Power of Thought #7

Here’s a question for you to ponder…  Are your right handed or left handed (Reggie you’re nuts… 🙂 )?  For example, let’s say you’re right-handed.  If I asked you to sign your name 5 times, I’m sure that wouldn’t be an issue, since you’re naturally right-handed, but now I’m asking you to sign your name 5 times with your left hand!  For many people, this will be an issue and for perfectionist, this will be outright frustrating.  But if I asked you to practice signing your name 5 times a day for an entire month with your left hand, the task will become easier and easier every time you attempt to sign your name.

We are conditioned (“right-handed”) to think certain things about money.  And many times, we attempt to make changes (writing with our left hand) to our financial situation through changing our habits, but the difficulty causes us to revert back to “right handed” behaviors…  A powerful book that I would like everyone to buy is The Richest Man in Babylon by George S. Classen.  This short read, is very cheap and can be found at your local half price book store, or purchased cheaply on-line.  The book systematically interweaves powerful financial and business truths within its entertaining short stories.  Whether it’s our parents, environment, or national culture, we learned our current financial habits.  For many of us, these habits are bad.  And based on the current financial conditions of our economy, I don’t believe we’re doing that well on a national scale either.  But how do we learn new habits to change our financial conditions?  By “writing with your left hand!”  Please purchase this book right away!  And begin the journey of financial freedom!  Tomorrow we’ll begin attacking your financial thoughts, and begin changing your mindset… Take care and God Bless!

  1. Jessica Fuentes
    January 6, 2011 at 4:45 pm

    I love the “writing with your left hand” analogy! I have not been reading the posts everyday, but I read all the ones I missed today, so I’m all caught up. I look forward to starting my journal. I’ve always loved to write, and in my years after leaving school, somehow the hustle and bustle of everyday life has slowly removed my habit of writing away from me. I have TONS of empty journals that I’m always buying (just cause they’re cute, another bad habit!), so I have no excuse not to start my journal. I will start today!

    Keep up the good work!

  2. January 7, 2011 at 1:39 pm

    Hey Jessica, thank you for your post! I really appreciate your efforts, and I will be praying that God continues to grant you ALL the desires of your heart! Thank you for sharing!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

